Log in

The Belva Lockwood Awards

Each year Bexar County Women's Bar selects two female attorneys who embody the principles of Belva Ann Bennett Lockwood (October 24, 1830 – May 19, 1917). Lockwood was an American attorney, politician, educator, and author. She was active in working for women's rights, The term feminist was not in use at the time; the press of her day referred to her as a "suffragist" -- someone who believed in women's suffrage or voting rights. Lockwood overcame many social and personal obstacles related to gender restrictions.  After college, she became a teacher and principal, working to equalize pay for women in education. She supported the movement for world peace, and was a proponent of temperance.

Lockwood graduated from law school in Washington, D.C. and became one of the first female lawyers in the United States. In 1879, she successfully petitioned Congress to be allowed to practice before the United States Supreme Court, becoming the first woman attorney given this privilege. Lockwood ran for president in 1884 and 1888 on the ticket of the National Equal Rights Party and was the first woman to appear on official ballots.

We are so proud of our members who continue to change the face of our community and further women in our profession. Recipients are chosen based on contributions to the legal profession, and contributions to the community in the form of charitable and volunteer work. Nominees are evaluated based on experience, reputation, and standing in the legal community. The Young Lawyer Award  is given to an attorney who has been in practice three to ten years.



The Belva Lockwood Outstanding Lawyer and Outstanding Young Lawyer Awards recipients will be honored at this year's  Autumn Affair





Year   Outstanding Lawyer  Outstanding Young Lawyer

Lisa Tatum 

Casey Lee 
2020 Hon. Pamela Mathy Alicia M. Grant 
2019   Hon. Rebecca Simmons Melanie L. Fry 
2018  Monica Ramirez Trollinger  Ashley Senary Dahlberg
2017  Suzanne Oliva Amanda Crouch 
2016   Cynthia Orr  Lauren Horne
 2015 Sara E. Dysart  Shari Mao 
 2014  Leslie Hyman Natalie Friend Wilson 
 2013 Lisa Barkley  Molly Neck 
 2012  Sylvia Cardona Tiffanie Clausewitz 
 2011  Carol Jendrzey Priscilla Camacho 
 2010 Hon. Elizabeth Copeland   Marissa Helm
 2009 Pamela Huff   Natalie Hall
 2008 Diana Geis  Emma Cano 
 2007  Nissa Dunn Kristal Cordova-Thomson 
 2006 Abigail Kampmann  Laura Mason 
 2005 Hon. Renee Yanta   Carmen Samaniego
 2004 Rosa Cabezas-Gil  Regina Stone-Harris 
 2003 Elizabeth Lindell  Amber Lidell-Alwais 
 2002 Jill Torbert  Teresa Oxford 
 2001 Laurie Weiss  Angela Sanchez 
 2000  Patricia Diaz Dennis Dayla Pepi 
 1999  Diann Bartek ileta Sumner 
 1998 Hon. Barbara Nellermoe  Hon. Elizabeth Copeland 
 1997  Nancy Anderson  Patricia Blaschke De Veau
 1996  Malinda Gaul  Danielle Hargrove
 1995  Evelyn Biery Pamela Huff 
 1994  Nancy Taylor Shivers Stacy Ferguson 
 1993  Patricia Flynn Jane Dingivan 
 1992  Jane Macon Sue Bench 
 1991  Barbara Bader Aldave Lisa Wortham 
 1990  Mary Brennan Stich Melissa Priest 
 1989 Margaret Maisel   Martha Fitzwater
 1988 Cyndi Taylor Krier   Jo Chris Lopez
 1987 Jane Bockus  Phyllis Mulder 
 1986 Sue Hall   Linda Gutierrez
 1985 Peggy Butler   Denise Martinez

Bexar County Women's Bar Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

Bexar County Women's Bar Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

P.O. Box 2297, San Antonio, Texas 78298-2297 Copyright 2015

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software